//
you're reading...
General

Data Files

I’ve been thinking about this one for a while.

What is the best way to store data used by the MUD?

Some MUDs (Circle for one) have a conglomeration of files broken down by zone.

For example, in Circle one file stores the room definitions, another file the mobile definitions, one does item definitions, still another stores shops, another for triggers, then one last file is used to store how the zone should look on reset (ie instances of objects and mobiles).

Repeat those files for each zone you have plus one additional file that tells the MUD which files to load.

I don’t want that in Hermes. I want only a few files per zone, and while I’m at it why not just use a real database to store everything? Aren’t all of these MUDs just simulating a database anyway? So long as I have Hermes (or a utility from the Hermes package) do import/export to flat files then I can have the ‘pack and go’ functionality of files but still keep a clean directory structure.

I did a little playing around in Access and came up with what I think will work for the database structure and came up with 19 tables completely normalized with relationships between the tables. With the DB nearly empty it weighs in at a hefty 616KB but I think using it over flat files will be beneficial both for coding purposes and for execution purposes.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

