//
you're reading...
Rants

Stupid VS.NET File Locking

Thanks to a stupid bug in VS.NET work has slowed greatly. Hermes.Core.dll‘s filesize has hit the limit which causes the bug to start (92KB I think, maybe less). So now when I go to do a build Hermes.Core.dll is locked by VS.NET and can’t be overwritten by the compiler.

My “solution”?

Create a NAnt build-file to do the build. That was my plan eventually anyway, so people without VS.NET could modify Hermes. But now debugging has become increasingly difficult.

Because VS.NET thinks it hasn’t compiled Hermes.Core it wants to compile it before you can run it in the debugger. So I stick a Console.Read at the start so you can use VS.NET’s Debug Processes command. If I want to set a breakpoint I need to first put in a call to System.Diagnostics.Debugger.Break(); where I want the breakpoint.

After all of that, there is still one problem; VS.NET doesn’t load the new PDB files. That makes stepping through code incredibly difficult (the wrong lines get highlighted). So now I have two instances of VS.NET running, one with the Hermes solution loaded, the other I use for debugging.

Where did all my productivity go? *sigh*

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

