//
you're reading...
General

Weird

Sunday night/Monday morning I got bored and decided to duplicate the weblog that one of the ASP.NET devs[^] made, using Web Matrix 0.5.

I started working on it around 11pm Sunday night and by 8am Monday morning I had the channels, calandar, and of course the entry viewer. Everything was pulling from an MSDE installation on my laptop but the data was entered through VS.NET (since it supports using a default value for primary keys).

Happy with that I saw several places where I could use the advanced features of VS.NET, especially code-behind so I wouldn’t have to define little helper structs all over.

After sleeping the day away I finally start working on the VS.NET version of Mars (yes I have a think with the Greek and Roman gods). My god does VS.NET suck for this! For instance, I created a User Control which is responsible for viewing the entries. I drag and drop this control onto my ASPX page and its there in the HTML, but it doesn’t appear in the code-behind. 😦

*sigh* This is going to be harder than I thought.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

