//
you're reading...
Rants

Ever have one of those weeks

Ever have one of those weeks where you were busy all week, but when you look back on what you accomplished there isn’t much there?

That has been the past two or three weeks for me. During my work hours (from when I wake up until 7 to 8pm at night; sometimes earlier, sometimes later) I rarely have to find something to do. I’m always working on something whether it be some code or thinking about that app I need to write so I don’t bore myself writing a large XML document.

Yet, what do I have to show for it? A sample thats nothing what I want it to be and just some ideas for that app. Sometimes I wonder if I would be better off as a pin-cushion instead of writing code. At least as a pin-cushion I would get some good feedback as to whether I’m doing my job well…blood does that quite well.

Edited on November 7th, 2003 @ 17:59

As an example of how my week has been going I just went to sync my source code with the repository for the team. I open up the connection to the VPN, then open up Source Safe. It prompts for the username/password, I type it in then it says that my username/password is incorrect. WTF? Look closely and see that it defaulted to my local database. Fine, change it so it opens the Dundas database. Can’t find file. Dammit, what the hell is going on here!

Fiddle about for 30 minutes doing ping tests, and trying to browse for the file. Still nothing. Look to see what time it is and notice something odd, I only have one network connection in my notification tray (system tray to the uninformed). Sometime between me connecting to the VPN and trying to open Source Safe I got disconnected. Perfect!

Reconnect to VPN and all goes well, sync the source and everything is great. Go to add my new project to the source (what I’ve been working on the past 3 weeks) and I get a scary warning about losing data in the database. CANCEL, CANCEL, CANCEL!

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

