//
you're reading...
General

The “Holiday Season”

Not really, like some other people I hate all this PC crap; “you can’t say this because you might offend some group of people” I’ve got some choice words for them, but I digress.

Here are a few links about the “Holiday Season” as posted by Jason Henderson (see links on the left).

http://asmallvictory.net/archives/005256.html#005256[^]

Dear Holiday Grouches,

I am an atheist. I don’t celebrate the birth of Christ, I don’t believe in the Virgin Mary. Yet, I love Christmas. My kids are Catholic, my family is Catholic and I think of Christmas as time to share my love and imitation wealth with those I love. Good cheer, good times.

and

http://www.d-42.com/archives/000190.html[^]

What all these people having “holiday sales” really want to say is “Christmas sale”. What all these clerks saying “happy holidays” really want to say (but can’t, because they’d be fired for insensitivity to other religions) is “Merry Christmas”. It’s such a sham, the whole “holiday” thing. Why do we have to censor Christians? You shouldn’t be offended by someone saying “Merry Christmas”. You could say something like “no, thank you,” and spoil their day altogether, and that would be so much fun. That’s what I do. And when I see someone with a cross around his/her neck saying “happy holidays,” I tend to berate him/her about not actually saying what s/he feels.

Be honest. That’s all I’m asking.

Both deserve reading.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

