//
you're reading...
Announcements, General

WordPress 1.0 beta

I just downloaded the latest CVS version of WordPress and I must say I’m quite impressed. I didn’t see my most wanted feature in it though; a preview button. 😦

Assuming a new release is coming soon I would tell others to wait for it before setting up the current version of WordPress 0.72. One of the new features in the beta is multiple categories so holding off for that one feature would be worth it (plus you wouldn’t have to adjust your template yet again when it comes out).

All in all I do love the features in WordPress and only wish that damn preview feature was present. I’ve got an article all entered in but it needs to be formatted, something that is nearly impossible to do in the current state of WordPress.

Update:

I’ve just been playing around with what I need to change with my layout and it isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. After a few minor changes I have my current layout working with the new code…most of the changes came from renaming b2* to wp-* and fixing the code I added on to match the new format.

I take back my recommendation to wait, the changes you have to make will be small enough to not warrant waiting. Great job to the WP guys.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

