//
you're reading...
Announcements

What am I doing now?

Kind of tied in with the last post I have thought about what I’ll be doing after I finish this documentation review. I honestly don’t know. I thought about going for my degree again, but that just doesn’t appeal to me at the moment. With awful road conditions, an equally bad vehicle, and not enough dough to pay my taxes, college and to do something about my car; college is looking less and less like a good option. It doesn’t help that I’d have to eat up about a year or two of rehash classes since many of my credits from MTU wouldn’t transfer.

So, what to do?

Currently I’m thinking about starting a small web-design/hosting company. I can get domain names and hosting cheap so my prices could appeal to the local businesses. Of course there are some downsides here as well. While I have contacts with the two publishing companies in the area that is pretty much the extent of my contacts. They reach a wide audience, but I have to wonder if that would be enough to pursuade people who already have a site hosted with the local ISPs to switch.

I know one of my contacts is getting hosted for free as part of the deal between the ISP and the two companies he runs. The other pays for his own hosting which I then manage for him for free. I only charge for any tech support that needs to be done.

Decisions, decisions.

In preparation I did purchase Jeffrey Zeldman’s Designing with Web Standards book as a means to prepare. Not that I can’t use CSS and XHTML already, but I figured it’d be best to go to the source for any information and a book makes a much handier reference than a website, especially if I’m on the road using my laptop.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

