//
you're reading...
Announcements

Working for Dundas Software

A few days ago — Christmas Day actually — I mentioned that I had an announcment regarding my job with Dundas Software. After I finish my current work (reviewing what has been completed of the documentation) I will no longer be working for them. My three and a half months working for Dundas were okay, there was no fall out between myself and any of the Dundas crew. Unfortunately I cannot work remotely and get the same work quality as if I were there.

I cannot fault Dundas for giving me the axe, if by some miracle they had decided to keep me on; I was prepared to quit because the quality of my work wasn’t meeting MY expectations. Something I think I could only solve by working on-site rather than remotely. But because I never got my degree, getting me up there was going to be a pain.

Some of my family and friends had wondered whether I was angry or upset about getting fired, and I have to tell them “No.” How could I be? Afterall, I planned on quitting if they didn’t fire me. I’ll just file this whole thing under “Experience” and know that working remotely all of the time is something I should avoid.

As I noted with my post below about Pete Rose, there are no excuses. When I saw I wasn’t doing well I should have worked to fix that; or quit.

I do have to thank Troy, Andrei, Andy, and Martin for taking a risk with me; I’d like to think I at least got some useful work done for them while I was there…er here. As someone who used the software daily for about 3 months, I can say that the team has put a ton of effort into making this product great and I’m sure it will be a great successful companion to their Charting product.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

