//
you're reading...
Games, Leisure

Why no posts lately?

I’ll tell you why!

I’ve been working on my MenuExtender component again…I felt it needed rewriting from the code I wrote last Summer.

I also got a nice surprise in the mail today, Steel Battalion arrived. The surprise comes in just how big the box was. As the pictures will show, it is quite large; for comparison the boxes and joystick were placed on my dining room table.

After setting the shipping carton on a chair I proceeded to open it only to find….another big box! Except this box was different, it was the one containing the game and controllers. It was also just a fraction of an inch smaller than the outer box…on all dimensions. Just as well, I wouldn’t want my nice looking box getting all dirty from the floor of the UPS or FedEx truck.

Upon opening the box I see the game and paperwork, as well as that white piece of paper typically found in build-it-yourself furniture that contains the instructions for assembly. Underneath the cardboard there are 4 parts to the controller, some screws, and cover plates to work as a joint between the 3 parts to screw together.

The three parts: Left block, center block, right block, and pedals. Yes, those pedals are made of metal.

But what to put the screws in with? Why it even includes an allen wrench; attached to the underside of the center block. Assembly is easy, take the IDE-like ribbon cable, plug it in to the appropriate side line up the giant peg and holes between the two then slap a cover on and screw through the cover into the two parts. Repeat for the other side.

After assembling everything (the pedals connect to the joystick assembly via a PS2 like connection) I took a quick spin through my new sim. First thing I noticed is that the controls feel very good; the joysticks don’t feel loose nor do they feel like they are too tight. Much better than the $50 joystick I bought in October for MS Flight Simulator 2004.

I haven’t played too much of the game, completing the ‘trial’ area and the first mission. But I did find out one thing that was rather annoying, if your pilot dies the save for it is deleted meaning you have to create a new pilot and start over. The upside is that when my pilot died I was given a tip as to what I did wrong so I can not do that again. I can only hope that if my pilot dies on mission 10 I don’t have to go back through and do missions 1-9 again.

Time will tell.

That was my day, how was yours? 😀

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

