//
you're reading...
Technology

Looking to buy an MSDN subscription?

Hurry over to the CodeProject Store and pick one up.

I put my order in late in the afternoon on Monday, then got an e-mail from Patricia the next morning telling me I goofed up my VISA number. After that, the card was declined because my bank protects me by imposing a $500 a day limit to debit transactions. After I straightened everything out with my bank, I sent Patricia and e-mail saying it should be good to go. 30 minutes later I’ve got an invoice marked Paid in my e-mail and this morning Patricia called again saying that they just got the retail box in today and it would go out to me today (with delivery by tomorrow). She also told me the procedure I would have to go through to get my subscription going and that if by chance my subscription number was duplicated (thanks to a glitch on MS’ part) to give her a call back so I can get a fax number that I can use to fax a copy of my paid invoice and the box top.

I love the support and that Patricia went out of her way to explain the procedure to me even when the e-mail containing the invoice already explained the subscription part of it.

:thumbs up:

So why did I buy a subscription? Microsoft just announced that a preview version of Visual Studio .NET 2005 is available to MSDN subscribers and I felt I needed a new way to look at .NET to write more articles. In addition it was just plain time that I started getting the tools I needed to get my own business going without going half-assed about it.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Looking to buy an MSDN subscription?

  1. James,
    Long time no see. Nice to see you have a blog up. How do you like the VS.NET 2005 preview? I have talked to a few people already about it, sounds as if there are many exciting things to look forward to. Should we expect some new articles on CP soon?

    Posted by Nick Parker | April 4, 2004, 6:14 pm
  2. Long time no see. Nice to see you have a blog up.

    I’ve been around; just not real active on CP lately. I hate not being active but I just haven’t found much to comment on lately.

    How do you like the VS.NET 2005 preview?

    I haven’t had a chance to play with VS.NET 2005 much. While I was in the middle of installing the last part of it, the system drive in my dad’s PC died so I’ve been tied up with that all day. From what I’ve seen, I will probably have a love-hate relationship with the new Windows Forms designer because it resembles the classic Dialog editor in VC6 apps. It looks like the original VS.NET one is still available, just not turned on by default.

    Should we expect some new articles on CP soon?

    I haven’t dug into the EULA yet to ensure it’s kosher but while I was waiting on the new hard drive to format I wrote up a mile-high overview of a series of four articles: “What’s New?”, “Generics” (for each of the supported core languages), “Windows Forms”, and “ASP.NET”. Windows Forms will probably get broken down into 2 or 3 articles because of all the changes would be hard to cover under 1 article.

    I think I’ll have to make a new post here to reflect my brief session with it so far.

    Posted by James T. Johnson | April 4, 2004, 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

