//
you're reading...
General

First impressions – Firefox 0.9.1

I must say I am impressed with what they have done with Firefox. There are still a few things I prefer about Avant, but after seeing that Anderson Che has decided to convert 404s into a moneymaking opportunity I had to ditch that app (only because I think it makes it look horrible, like I hit one of those spammer sites). So far I only have three peeves with FireFox.

  • Using the mousewheel to scroll is horribly slow
  • I prefer my tabs on the bottom since that is where my mouse tends to go when I finish reading a page and I’m ready to switch to a new tab (while another page loads)
  • When I close the last tab I really want it to close the page and leave me looking at a blank browser (or what you’d see in a typical MDI app with no windows open). I absolutely don’t want it to close the tab bar itself!

Sad to say I’m leaving IE, I still prefer how it renders pages that are still loading, but with the prospect for innovation running low with IE its time for me to look for the next good thing…and I think I’ve found it with Firefox.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “First impressions – Firefox 0.9.1

  1. I have also mad the switch to Firefox. Avant is too buggy and IE is stagnant. For pages that don’t render well, use the ieview extension.

    Posted by JasonH | July 8, 2004, 1:26 pm
  2. So far I haven’t needed to use the IEView extension which is surprising and yet refreshing considering it wasn’t too long ago when “This page best viewed with….” was plastered all over the web.

    Posted by James T. Johnson | July 9, 2004, 4:23 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

