//
you're reading...
Reviews

Hello TiVo!

I’ve been hearing a lot about TiVo, and I’ve been looking at buying one for a while but there have been two major sticking points for me:

  • Initial cost
  • Having to pay a subscription fee (or a large one-time fee) just to use the system

Well it appears the planets are aligned because Best Buy has some of their TiVo line on sale, with a nice mail-in rebate to boot. Not only that, but one of the units on sale includes the basic TiVo service for free so the unit is still useful to me if I can’t afford to spend the $12.95 every month (or would rather spend that money elsewhere). And just for completness sake it is the Toshiba Digital Media Server (SD-H400) it has a built-in DVD player and the TiVo is a 40GB model (which on the best quality setting stores something like 25 hours of video). Best Buy has it on sale this week for $199.99 and there is a $100 mail-in-rebate. The only catch with the rebate is that you have to be a subscriber to the pay service for at least 30 days when they process the rebate — ie for models including basic service that means the plus service, for all other models that means at least the basic service.

Not a problem for me though, I think I’ll be upgrading to the lifetime service in a few months or so if I’m still using it a lot.

In the end I really like it, the only hard part was trying to remember what shows I liked watching but could never remember to watch. Doubly so for the shows that seem to change timeslots every day.

That said; the only thing I currently dislike about it is that it starts to get really slow when it checks to see if a new schedule will clash with an existing one.

And of course as I’m writing this I see another thing that I definately don’t like. It decided it was going to restart itself without asking my permission first. At least it waited until I had finished recording Good Eats. After it restarted (which took forever, however it has only been started up twice, once when I first turned it on, and just now so I don’t know if that is typical) it began installing some new TiVo software which again is taking up lots of time.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

