//
you're reading...
Games, Rants

eCost blows -or- How to lose a customer

Waaaaaay back in July (the 7th to be exact) I preordered Halo 2 Limited Edition from eCost for $39.99. I also opted in for next-day shipping (I assume that is what it is, shipping is $9.99) and they tack on a $3.95 processing fee. Even then it was the best price I could find at the time.

Fast forward to tonight, mere hours away from the Halo 2 launch taking place in game stores all over the US. Having not seen a shipping notification from them during the day I decided to check the status on my order. Minutes later I find out that eCost cancelled my pre-order on October 27th by my request. Funny, I don’t remember cancelling my order.

I can only assume that eCost realized the price was too low (its now $46) so they cancelled all of the orders with the erroneous price. Companies do this all the time, so that doesn’t really have me ticked off. What does have me ticked off is that I never received any sort of notice from them about the cancellation. If I had I probably would have re-ordered from them anyway but now I won’t be ordering from them ever again.

I think I’ll put an order in at EBGames…or maybe I’ll just save the money for World of Warcraft.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “eCost blows -or- How to lose a customer

  1. ecost and their fellow companies do not honor many of teh rebates they offer

    Posted by ds | January 17, 2007, 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

