//
you're reading...
Technology

GB-PVR or XPMCE2005?

I currently have an 80-hour TiVo but I’m thinking about building a PC based DVR for my family. I have two three main reasons for doing this:

  1. The thought of having every episode of Star Trek: TNG on a DVR makes me giddy
  2. Doing #1 would require a vast amount of hard drive space…which I have on my network, but a TiVo box couldn’t hold
  3. No monthly fee just to have essential things like a Season Pass, extended guide, and the ability to move content between computers.

There are two pieces of software I could use to accomplish my goals.

GB-PVR which really excites me since it is managed code and I’m Mr. .NET…but I have to wonder whether it would perform well if the machine gets left on for two weeks straight.

Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 which should perform well and be more stable than GB-PVR…but writing my own plug-ins/applications for it could be a problem if there aren’t any managed interfaces for me to use.

Have any of my 3 readers used either software above and can guide me?

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “GB-PVR or XPMCE2005?

  1. <sarcasm>Dangit, why’d you have to go and tell me that I can make my own PVR??? GREAT! Thanks! As if I already don’t have enough free time, now I have this insatiable urge to go build my own PVR! Grrrr…. Shame on you!</sarcasm> 🙂

    Posted by Jason Poll | January 10, 2005, 5:46 pm
  2. http://mediaportal.sourceforge.net/ is your friend 🙂

    Posted by Anonymous | January 20, 2005, 8:26 am
  3. Peace people

    We love you

    Posted by HelloWorld | April 23, 2007, 3:42 pm

Archive

