//
you're reading...
Rants, Technology

Microsoft releases Windows AntiSpyware Beta 1

Its been making the rounds on the technology blogosphere but I had to toss my 2 cents in as well.

Yesterday Microsoft released its recently aquired Windows AntiSpyware Beta to the public. I just installed it on my laptop and i have to say that it works pretty well…nothing found of course, but I did install it on a PC I was fixing today and it did a great job of removing TimeSink. It appears that rather than just attempting to delete the spyware found, it will shutdown any applications currently using it as well as unloading it from any COM clients like Explorer and IE.

Thats the good part… The downside lies in the details:

It requires a recent OS to install (I haven’t tried it on ME or 98SE, but I would assume they changed the installer when they repackaged it).

Microsoft Windows 2000, Windows XP, or Windows Server™ 2003

Yet the original software, Giant AntiSpyware, only had this OS requirement [as provided by the WinCleaner website]:

Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/NT(SP 3, 4, or 6a)/XP/2003

While I understand that MS wants to move everyone to newer, more secure OSes; and I wish I could just snap my fingers and have it happen. Unfortunately there are just too many people that face software incompatibilities and financial problems to have them all upgrade. If it weren’t for the fact that the product they acquired worked under 98SE and ME then I wouldn’t have any problems with their new product being restricted to the NT line.

I guess I can at least count on income coming from those that cant upgrade to XP. :~

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

