//
you're reading...
General, Technology

Oh dear

I see that two of my articles were mentioned in this week’s CodeProject newsletter. While I’m glad they’re getting some more exposure, they are quite old and one of them (TypeLoader for .NET) is my most embarrassing because it wasn’t well thought out and made only because I had the code already written.

When I wrote those articles in late 2001 and early 2002 I think they were the first ones dedicated to writing a plug-in type system. Since then many more have been written, using far better techniques than I originally used.

Off the top of my head is leppie’s work on a PluginManager, as well as Marc Clifton’s MyXaml which isn’t really a plugin system but it has many features that those looking for a plugin system want.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

