//
you're reading...
Technology

Yet another HTPC software solution

Anonymous left a comment pointing me to what appears to be some really nice software: MediaPortal. Unlike GB-PVR and MCE 2005, this one is completely open source so if I had the inclination I could modify/add anything to the app. Before I left for the dealership I downloaded the app to my laptop; and I kept myself occupied for a few minutes by giving it a test-run without any of the neccesary hardware.

It is nice to see that it caught me and helpfully notified me that I didn’t have several things installed, notable an MPEG2 decoder, FFDShow (whatever that is used for), nor VobSub (used to provide subtitles…ahh, memories).

I think I may have to turn my old PC into a guinea pig for the various HTPC software out there to see which one I like the best. I do plan on using MCE2005 qualified hardware so compatibility shouldn’t be a problem there.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

