//
you're reading...
Technology

FogBugz evaluation

For the past few days I’ve been evaluating FogCreek Software’s FogBugz product to use internally here. If you read all of my previous post you’ll know that I’m a lone developer that doesn’t actually do much paid development, so you may ask why I would want to use such a product when many others would be better suited price wise.

Part of that, I am in the process of figuring out; but I do need to keep in mind that while I work by myself, I would love to get out of doing general IT work and start writing code full time so I may as well get used to using good tools now rather than relying on kludges and bad programs. Of course there is the general answer, why should I settle for less than the best?

And it appears that is the answer I keep coming back to. For the most part Gemini does what I want, but there are a few things that I would like to have that FogBugz provides.

  • Complete e-mail correspondence stored in the database
  • Built in support for crash reporting
  • Bayesian filtering of incoming e-mail work items to auto sort them into appropriate projects/areas

Altogether, I like what FogBugz provides; most importantly I don’t need to be a linux/perl guru to install Bugzilla, nor am I stuck wanting features in Gemini that I can’t add….not to say that I can add them to FogBugz….at least I don’t think I can; but so far it isn’t lacking a feature that I know I want right now.

I just wish it was available in ASP.NET, but I can’t blame FogCreek for not making the jump if they don’t have to.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “FogBugz evaluation

  1. I’m the author of a free open source bug tracker that is heavily inspired by FogBugz, BugTracker.NET. It’s an ASP.NET application.

    It has the same approach to email correspondence as FogBugz – tracking the incoming and outgoing emails with the bug, displayed as a narrative.

    No spam filtering though.

    More info at http://ifdefined.com/bugtrackernet.html

    Posted by Corey Trager | February 26, 2008, 7:14 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

