//
you're reading...
Rants

Nice choices there, slick

Well it appears my cats hit the power switch on my surge protector sometime during the night so my PC shut off. But when I go to bring it back up it just reboots itself before the desktop appears. Attempting to enter safe mode brings the same thing.

Since I don’t know exactly where my XP Pro w/ SP2 CD is, I decided to try out HPs system recovery.

Starting it up I see that it skipped right over “Selecting Recover Option” and went right to “Hard Disk Preparation”. First it asked if I was sure I wanted to use their system recovery over the one built-in to Windows. Considering safe mode wasn’t working for me; that was out of the option, and I didn’t want to try the recovery console.

After that it says:

“All files, including data files, on the user partition will be lost and the original factory-shipped files will be recovered to the user partition.

Do you want to continue?

OK”

What? So I have no choice, I’m going to lose all my files and all I get to say is, OK?

Nice choices there, slick.

Update: Even worse, the system restore appears to have actually deleted my files even though I just turned it off at that point. Now it comes up telling me the boot volume is unmountable and if i run XP Pro SP2 setup it tells me my primary partition is completely empty. Guess I might as well swap the 80GB for the 160 I bought last summer.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

