//
you're reading...
General

Where was I?

Where people were on Sept. 11, 2001 when they heard about the attacks will remain a vivid memory for the entire population. Unfortunatley, it is my generation’s Kennedy assassination or moon landing. To this day I can remember the chain of events that played out in my dorm room that day.

My roommate and I had been up late the night before, the norm for us. Both our classes didn’t start until the afternoon so we took every advantage to sleep in late. I remember waking up sometime after it happened, my roommate was climbing back onto his bunk. I have no idea what time it was, but he said a plane ran into the WTC. I want to make this next part very clear….In the days prior to the attacks I had learned about a plane running into the Empire State Building during a heavy fog. When he said a plane hit the WTC this was the first thing to come to mind, I laughed about it saying stupid pilot or something like that and went back to bed.

I don’t remember exactly how I found out the truth about the attacks, maybe it was on TV after I got up some hours later. I could have saw it on the internet, it wasn’t uncommon for both to happen first thing in the morning. It could have even been something I found out about when I went down to eat lunch.

Something won’t be forgotten though; walking to lunch every dorm room I passed had CNN or one of the local networks turned on watching what was happening. This was long after the buildings fell, information was scarce. I don’t recall if I went to class or if classes were cancelled. I do remember that my computer chair broke that day so I had to go buy a new one (or sit on a metal post…not fun); along the way I passed at least one prayer vigil probably more.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

