//
you're reading...
General

All is not well with Akismet

Akismet appears to be working well; I see that it has trapped 183 suspected spam comments since I installed it. But there is a problem, I can’t actually enter into the admin page for Akismet to double-check that all of the comments are spam. It keeps giving me the following error:

Fatal error: Cannot redeclare ksd_config_page() (previously declared in <site>\blog\wp-content\plugins\akismet\akismet.php:14) in <site>\blog\wp-content\plugins\akismet\akismet.php on line 13

I’ve got a support e-mail in to Matt, but so far his first suggestion didn’t help (make sure I’m running WP 1.5.2). To double check I downloaded a new copy of 1.5.2 and uploaded it over top of my current install. I’ve also disabled all plugins except Akismet only to get the same error. A search on the error turned up one other post; but the only original poster never got a reply nor gave a follow-up.

I’ll update this post with any further suggestions from Matt and whatever the final solution for me turns out to be once I find it.

Update: Nov. 5th, 2005 I have fixed my problem, but am refraining from releasing the fix because I don’t know if it will break something else. Once I get confirmation that my fix is correct I will update the linked post with the fix.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

