//
you're reading...
Rants

So much for sleep

Just as I was watching the last of my TiVo’d episodes of Night Court I happened to catch my desktop PC’s monitor enter power save mode. The only problem is that I have power saving set to turn on only after an hour, and I just used it a few minutes ago. A few seconds later the POST screen is showing and then Windows spits out a nice error message: Cannot find file \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG. Thats the third time in three days, on three computers I’ve seen that error — fortunately I get paid to fix or paid to find the people to fix the problem on two of those. This one is my problem to deal with though; and I don’t really like to go a day without XM Radio or iTunes.

So I spent much of the late night/early morning hours trying to figure out what is wrong with it. It turns out the partition info on the primary hard drive has fubar’d itself. Time for a reinstall (since chkdsk didn’t fix it) and now it just constantly reboots.

Then install .NET, iTunes, XM Radio, et. al. before I can sleep peacefully.

Update: Fixed a mistake I made where I said I didn’t want to go a day with XM/iTunes. That should have been ‘without’ not ‘with’. And I’m now installing Windows update 39 of 42 on my fresh install of XP Pro w/ SP2.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

