//
you're reading...
General

I’m in!

I’ve finally moved in; last Monday anyway. I didn’t have internet access at home until today however, the earliest i could schedule the install outside of work hours. I didn’t have room to bring my server down; but I should be able to grab the data sometime.

I had an interesting experience setting up the cable modem too. But its long winded and most of it isn’t very interesting so I’ll skip to the good part. It is Saturday afternoon, about 1:45pm. The support staff for Insight/RoadRunner I’m talking with has determined that the cable modem they gave me is bad (well…I determined that when the modem didn’t power up unless the power cable was held in). The earliest I can get someone to come out to replace the modem is Tuesday from 9am-1pm. I don’t think my voice betrayed my frustration, maybe it did. But then she told me to hold on; she’d see if they had a modem there. A few minutes later I get a call back from her, they have a modem for me, the office is currently closed, but if I honk my horn when I stop in they’ll run it out to me. Excellant! She even gave me good directions to get there; I just didn’t realize how far south I had to travel to hit the right road so I had called my dad to be sure I hadn’t passed the road yet.

An hour later (I needed to pick up a pillow and a soda at Meijer) I hook the modem up; do a speed test on my laptop and send a message to my dad:

beep, beep, thpppppp, *zoom*

Yeah, I think I had a good sense of humor about it. And yes, Nish and Scott, all the burners on the stove work.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

