//
you're reading...
General

Syntax Highlighter mini-update

Nothing real big to announce, I still don’t have my server data; but I’m tempted to just start from scratch on it anyway since I can’t keep putting this off.

I have worked out what my goals with XML language defintion are and I need to redo what I have to meet them. I might as well share that here so I have a hard copy of it in case my whiteboard gets erased.

XML Language Definition Tags

  • Languages
  • Language
  • Author
    • Name
    • Uri
    • Email
    • Version
  • LanguageInfo
    • Name – The name for this language (C#, Visual Basic, etc)
    • Identifier – The identifier(s) that will refer to this language (C#, cs, csharp, etc)
  • CustomProcessing
    • Assemblies
    • Type – A fully-qualified typename, this type needs to implement a specific interface to be used. This code does pre and post processing of highlighted values.
  • LanguageParts
    • LanguagePart
      • Name – A friendly name for this part of the language (keywords, literals, etc)
      • Type – One of several values: Delimited, WordList, Number, String, Custom (default)
      • Class – The CSS class name that should be applied after the highlighting
      • RegEx – The regular expression to use
      • CustomProcessor – Another fully-qualified typename, this is only used to process this single language part
      • Order – Taken with all other LanguageParts defines the order in which each should be processed
      • Delimiters – Applies only when Type = Delimited
        • Start
        • End
      • Words – Applies only when Type = WordList
        • Word
      • ExplicitTypeLetters – Applies only when Type = Number….this is a list of letters that can immediately follow a number to change what type the number should be.
      • StringDelimiters – Applies only when Type = String
        • StartEnd – The character(s) that denote the beginning and end of the string
        • Escape – Any characters that will allow the StartEnd string to be used within the string itself.
        • SpecialChars – Characters that can prefix a string to modify its meaning.

Anything else I should consider?

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

