//
you're reading...
.NET 1.x, BetterMenu

Half way there

I’ve got the textual separator almost completely implemented in both Normal and Office XP menu styles.

The highlight color isn’t 100% right, only off by a few RGB values though. Same with the separator line running underneath it. I can’t seem to figure out the text color for the separator. SystemColors.Highlight isn’t dark enough, and I can’t seem to find an alpha value for black text over the light blue highlight. As much as I hate the idea maybe I’ll need to draw black text then overlay that with a transparent SystemColors.Highlight.

Here are my results so far though:

The current state of the textual separator

For those that don’t want to bother reading the 4 page article I wrote about it, BetterMenu (aka MenuExtenderComponent) is a .NET windows forms component that adds menu images, office xp style menus, MDI menu and MDI merged menu support to the regular .NET Menu controls. This project is focused at .NET 1.1 applications, but should work fine in a .NET 2.0 application. I recommend using the MenuStrip components if you are using .NET 2.0 though; they offer features that aren’t available in this component (such as drawing the entire length of the main menu bar, no 1px gap around the entire menu, etc).

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

