//
you're reading...
Games

Oblivion loading slowly?

I picked up Oblivion Monday and was plauged by incredibly slow loading screens — like 7 minutes to go from the market place in the imperial city into a merchant’s store. Plus noticable pauses for equiping my sword (oddly not a bow) and some audio glitches while I walked around.

While I was playing I came back to my laptop to check for messages and also loaded up bloglines — I had a while to wait, might as well do something useful — and saw that Joystiq’s 360 fanboy blogposted a suggestion for fixing it.

There’s a harmless solution for this: “To solve this problem, reset your Xbox, and hold down the A button as the game is booting up. If any button is held while Oblivion is loading, it will clear its hard drive cache, and create a new one. Once you see the “Bethesda Softworks” logo video, the game is already loaded, and the cache should have been cleared.”

Before I did that I also deleted all the useless crap I had sitting the harddrive of the 360.

Now my load times are hardly noticable.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

31 thoughts on “Oblivion loading slowly?

  1. I wish things like this showed up in the “big gaming sites” reviews. Aren’t they supposed to be for the consumer?

    Obviously, no, they aren’t. Like network television, the consumer is the advertisers. We are the product. They are selling our eyes.

    Posted by David Beoulve | April 3, 2006, 10:19 am
    • how do you fix it on pc?

      Posted by kilmos nemis | February 2, 2013, 1:26 pm
      • the loding screen take 5 minutes to lode and more comenly then not it frezes and makes me log off then get back on.

        Posted by kilmos nemis | February 2, 2013, 1:28 pm
      • I’m not sure; I haven’t run it on PC myself….I imagine there might be the same thing on the PC version, just hold one of the buttons used by the game as you boot it up.

        Alternatively, check your antivirus software and exclude the data files for Oblivion from its scan; I had this issue with Diablo 3 where it would scan the resource files being loaded for so long that my game would timeout when I’d try to create one.

        Posted by James | February 2, 2013, 1:44 pm
      • sorry for the placement of this reply james.
        This may be the most usefull thing yet!!!!
        I tride disk defragment but that did not work.
        have been on minecraft wating for a sulution.
        and that sulution is finaly here.
        soon to see if it works almost got a new $50 prossecer unit for it!!!!
        TTTHHHAAANNNKKK YYYOOOUUU SSSOOO MMMUUUCCCHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

        Posted by kilmos nemis | February 2, 2013, 1:57 pm
  2. thank you so much for the advice almost gave away this amazing game

    Posted by Ryan Plunkett | April 4, 2006, 9:41 am
  3. honestly i think thats weird because oblivion gets the stuff from the hard drive so wat will “A” do? i will try it but it sounds weird lol why “A”

    Posted by Chris | April 17, 2006, 6:29 pm
  4. It’s not ‘A’ specifically, I think Bethesda said that it will clear the cache if you hold down any button while the game is loading.

    Posted by james | April 17, 2006, 7:20 pm
  5. I am going to get Oblivion soon, but is the loading as bad as Marrowind expansion pack version was for xbox? As long as its never that bad I’d love the game. sO I am going for it.

    Posted by Grifter | April 20, 2006, 3:20 pm
  6. I don’t know…I bought the PC version of Morrowind and the expansions so I have no idea how long they were.

    I will guess that they are now only 5-10 seconds long if it has to resort to loading data. Sometimes — such as going into town when you were in a store the transition will be nearly instant.

    In the wilderness you will get “Loading…” messages at the bottom of the screen, but that rarely impacts your playing…only a few times have i ever had it do anything other than play fine…once it bogged down quite a bit….another time it came up with a message saying the disc was dirty which essentially crashed the game because i wasn’t given a chance to do anything.

    Posted by james | April 20, 2006, 5:50 pm
  7. Thanks a bundle. I left it loading and i went to school and came back it was still there. but i was able to go in and out of my xbox guide. I too almost traded it in for $25.

    Posted by Eric | May 14, 2006, 10:05 pm
  8. U R A LEGEND. MY GAME WAS TAKING AGES BUT NOW IT LOADS UP IN NO TIME CHEEEEEEEEEEEEEERZ

    Posted by M | June 27, 2006, 12:32 pm
  9. I had no problems with load times whatsoever until I hooked up to Xbox live. After I’d eaten up about eight gigs with demos and movies the game started to suffer from long load times from reigon to reigon and temporary freeze ups while generating maps. I’ll admit, I haven’t tested this theory yet because there’s too much crap on my 360 that I want to show my friends. But a game that massive having a problem generating all those places on the fly with limited memory makes alot of sense. (of course, if all you do is run around leaving a wake of dead bodies and trashed hotel rooms, maybe you should clean your cache)

    Posted by Scoobs | August 10, 2006, 6:23 am
  10. On X bx 360, at about level 6, I started getting bad load times, every time I moved into town LOOADING for a minute or two, mage guild – loading, open room, loading it is terrible

    Posted by ManBobb | October 12, 2006, 1:00 am
  11. i had a go at that A thing but mine is still extreamly slow, it freezes constantly to load and loading a save file takes forever its loading while iam typing this and the bar still hasent changed, any ideas y? its annoying but i luv the game plz help me, oh look it changed

    Posted by tetsurose | March 24, 2007, 6:45 pm
  12. Check how much data is on your hard drive. If the drive is nearly full then the cache would have a hard time finding enough free space to properly reconstruct itself.

    Posted by James | March 24, 2007, 6:51 pm
  13. I’ll be honest. i completely doubted this would work. but it did. thank you so much!!!

    Posted by Brandon | December 26, 2007, 2:49 pm
  14. Thank you so much!! I was really going to go trade it in, but now it works again! Im so happy 🙂 thanks again.

    Posted by MiKe | March 16, 2008, 10:42 am
  15. This used to work for me but now it doesn’t. What’s wrong?

    Posted by Brendan | April 5, 2008, 4:46 pm
  16. Hmmm, good question. How full is your drive? If it has quite a bit of stuff on it you may need to delete some things from it then do the trick again. My thinking is that with less free space on the drive there isn’t enough space for the cache file to be the size it wants to be.

    Posted by James | April 6, 2008, 6:17 pm
  17. I noticed extremely long load times in Morrowind as well as freezing and crashing. This was solved by deleting all the unecessary saves for the game ( I had almost 100 ). With oblivion I manage no more than 10 saves at a time or less

    This may also help

    Posted by shane | December 21, 2008, 3:57 pm
  18. shane, excellent point. I had the same problem in oblivion as well; though I only recalling it being an issue when trying to save/load. In the end I deleted many of my saves and did the same as you, kept it down to about 10.

    Posted by James | December 21, 2008, 9:32 pm
  19. I got oblivion for the xbox 360, and i played a long time with no problems but i tried loading a saved game at the main menu and the red loading bar would go almost all the way then the music would stop and the game would freeze up and i couldnt even get my xbox guide up and when i took the disk out the game was still frozen and i tried holding a and deleting all my saved games i didnt need and it still didnt work

    Posted by Blake | March 10, 2009, 5:44 pm
  20. I left out one thing i had three saves an auto save and a save at the begining of the game and my main save i was about lvl 6 and i tried loading my main save and like i said before the red bar would go almost all the way and it would freeze up so i tried my save at the begining of the game and it worked but i dont want to start over so plz help

    Posted by Blake | March 10, 2009, 6:01 pm
  21. THANK YOU I WAS ABOUT TOU FUCKING TROW MY XBOX OUT THE WINDOW MY oblivion works again

    Posted by TED | April 13, 2009, 1:08 pm
  22. i started having the slow (to dead stopped) type of loading from scene to scene after I was at level 25 and had saved about 500 games.
    I tried deleting saves down to about 100, didnt work. Each PC save is about 2.5 MegB . My disc is about 90% free.
    Did a complete restore on my comp in case it was some external virus thingie, didnt really help either.
    Thennnnn, wierd thing that worked was when I did the menu driven test of the sound and video, i found the test built in to the Oblivion game. After listening to the sound test and the couple of video tests, the game ran like a champ.
    Now, a week later, the slow load is happenning again. Grr.

    Posted by rich | May 28, 2009, 9:32 pm
  23. I did use a couple of pc console cheats (so shoot me) for gold and hammers, and may have confused some S/W sequence somewhere.

    Posted by rich | May 28, 2009, 9:34 pm
  24. So I did not think this would work like many others on here and it did. I am so happy. I wanted to break this game. Thank you so much:)

    Posted by I dont think so | March 26, 2010, 1:59 am
  25. My Oblivion worked fine at first until a couple week later so i got a new one, but then i would go to the menu and go to load and it would get to the red bar almost full and froze i use continue, auto save, and load none of them work i even took it to my friends xbox it didnt work so it must be my harddrive but i dont know what to do…..

    Posted by Ed | July 20, 2010, 3:53 pm
  26. This has worked a treat! Thankyou

    Posted by Matthew Miller | July 31, 2010, 12:59 pm
  27. please tell me how to fix it on pc!!!!!

    Posted by kilmos nemis | February 2, 2013, 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

