//
you're reading...
General, Technology

New Feed Reader

After my last post I remembered that Issam mentioned a new feed reader he’s using called GreatNews.

I’ve been using Bloglines for well over a year now and giving it up will be difficult to do, but when I read that it integrated with Bloglines I decided to try it out. So far I’m finding the interface a bit clunky, after I removed all the feeds that came with the fresh install I found out how to add my Bloglines feeds. Once it loaded the list and I told it to continue to monitor all those feeds it acted like the program locked up.

Once I told GreatNews to monitor my feeds it looked like it had locked up, I’ve only got 260 feeds a small amount compared to most people. By the time I got a drink from the fridge it was back to business again. I had already read most of the new posts when I got home; but there were a few new ones available so I began reading them. Everything was fine until I got to the first multipage channel. As I scrolled down to read more of the entries on that page all of a sudden I was on the next page of entries. It turns out that there is a feature that moves you to the next page when you attempt to scroll so far past the end of the page. In my case I know how far a flick of the mouse wheel will scroll me; so when I did that flick expecting to get another screen of content, while I was near the bottom of the page, it sent me to the next page. Fortunately the back link took me back so I could finish reading the entries.

Unfortunately it has the same problem that bloglines does…it doesn’t handle relative URLs very well, so links and pictures attempt to load from my local system instead of the originating site. This looks to be caused by the post being one that I told bloglines to keep as new for me. There is a possibility that this is just caused by it loading the post from bloglines; I should know soon whether that is the case (ignore that link, its just me testing the relative link issue :D)

Update: Found out the result of my test and saw that it had no problem with my relative link. Looks like its just an issue with posts coming over from bloglines. I also forgot to post what I liked about GreatNews.

So what do I like about it? I’m liking that I can label individual posts for different things, not just that the post should remain unread. Quite often I’ll read a post at work that I want to read later, but just don’t have the time or it isn’t even work related (no, sir….The Games feed list just opened itself)…Now I can attach a label to it so I know what the post is about and more importantly I can pull it up later without hunting through my various folders looking for that one post I marked as new.

Something that could be a deal killer for me is that I’m spoiled by bloglines being an online service. I can label all the cool feed entries as I want; but that won’t help me when I’m at work. I’ll continue using it for the rest of the week, but it’d be great if it just had an online component tied in too. Maybe I’ll have to try out newsgator/feed demon as well…

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “New Feed Reader

  1. James,

    I’m a huge fan of Google Reader all the sudden. It allows me to keep my read items synced up across multiple computers (a must for me). Check it out if you haven’t already. I mean it’s free, so if you don’t like it, don’t go back to the site. 🙂

    It has labels and offers a nice ‘filter’ interface for finding the right feed. Another key thing for me is that it is keyboard friendly.

    http://reader.google.com

    Luc

    On to my next blog… See ya!

    Posted by Luc | June 22, 2006, 2:23 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

