//
you're reading...
Technology

Hello Subversion

After reading Jason rave about subversion last week I decided to give it a try today. Combined with TortoiseSVN the experience hasn’t been totally painful unlike my last experience with it –where it caused explorer to crash.

Now after having to delete the repository a few times as I learned how to get everything set up the way I wanted I think I’m starting to get the hang of using it. About the only confusing part was merging the changes from the first branch I made back into the trunk; but after 10 minutes I had it nailed and was able to take changes in the trunk and propagate them to the branch in my first try.

Why did I make such a drastic change? After I opened the source to BetterMenu on another system I found out how annoying it was to not have source control set up in Visual Studio…Another reason is that I wanted to get away from relying on Visual Studio for accessing my source control; then not knowing what would happen when I modified a file outside of Visual Studio. It doesn’t hurt that installing Vault for the 10th time between 2 systems got to be a royal PITA.

Once I get a real server going again I’m sure I’ll want to move the repository, and transferring the Vault database isn’t something I want to do yet again.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Hello Subversion

  1. It seems like we have some sort of link-trade going on. 🙂

    I’m gonna have to make a post regarding SVN….maybe include some of my hookscripts and backup scripts…

    Posted by Jason Poll | April 24, 2006, 11:51 am
  2. I suppose you could be interested in Visual Studio integration for Subversion. Have a look at VisualSVN (http://www.visualsvn.com). It’s simple and reliable. Uses TortoiseSVN for most of the UI.

    Posted by Fyodor Sheremetyev | July 14, 2006, 2:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

