//
you're reading...
Announcements, Technology

TechFest success!

Crappy Cellphone picture of Data Dynamics Product Manager Luc (right) being interviewed on .NET Rocks by hosts Carl Franklin (left) and Richard Campbell (center)Luc and I just flew back in today from the Tulsa Tech Fest. The event was awesome and will provide for lots of stories on Monday.

Highlights from TechFest:

  • We met a ton of people. I was so busy during the lunch period talking about Data Dynamics and our products that I didn’t get a chance to eat much of my food. That was not a problem 🙂
  • We gave our presentation to a total of 3 people; 2 less than I thought we would have. That is just a sign of the great sessions going on at the same time.
  • Despite only giving a detailed presentation to 3 people we got our product and company name out there to many other people. There was a central theme of people complaining about a certain competitor *cough* wanting to find a better solution…Just so you know…we have it
  • Mark Miller’s component presentation was pretty good, I know some people didn’t ‘get’ it until the very end…I thank my background in knowing about services and the XNA component based development helped me though
  • We gave away all of the t-shirts we brought to the event!
  • The VIP dinner featured some damn good barbecue from Rib Crib in Tulsa….excellent food
  • Luc was interviewed for .NET Rocks! by Carl Franklin and Richard Campbell!!! I’m a HUGE fan of the show, so for Luc to be interviewed about Data Dynamics and our products has a big wow factor for me. At the top of this post is a picture from my cellphone of the interview. From left to right: .NET Rocks hosts Carl Franklin, Richard Campbell, and Data Dynamics Product Manager Luc. The show will be posted the week of November 14th 21st. Here is Luc’s post about the interview.

Some of the non-TechFest highlights:

  • Due to a dumb James moment, I caused Luc and myself to miss our 6pm flight from Houston, TX to Tulsa, OK.
  • On the upside, we met Bryan Powell while waiting for the later 7:30pm flight to Tulsa. Bryan provided a lot of laughs and made the time pass quickly.
  • The Post Oak Lodge (located at 5323 W 31st Street North, Tulsa, OK) in Tulsa is incredible! I’m ready to go back there next year.
  • I must have a familiar face, several people came up and said they know me from somewhere…from this blog or my CodeProject articles maybe?

The only downside really is that as we were rushing to get to our flight from Tulsa to Atlanta, we ran into Mark Miller and Richard Campbell again, and didn’t have a long time to talk with Mark about the session I went to. I think they were rushing to get to their plane(s) as well. At least I’m now known as the ISupportInitialize guy 🙂

*Yes I know I used the phrases “we” and “us” a lot…bad habit on my part but Luc and I were together pretty much the whole weekend so its all stored that way in my head…I’m not turning into royalty just yet.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “TechFest success!

  1. I was there too. I talked about using AJAX.net with ASP.net It was a great event! I don’t think I met you though. Maybe next time.

    Posted by Tim Hibbard | October 15, 2006, 10:04 pm
  2. Next time indeed!

    During the event I pretty much stuck around the Data Dynamics booth…never know when someone needs that important info about ActiveReports.

    Posted by james | October 16, 2006, 8:30 am
  3. Glad to hear it went well 🙂

    Missing the flight must have been fun too 😉

    Posted by Nish | October 25, 2006, 12:13 pm
  4. Did someone mention my name? “Bryan provided a lot of laughs and made the time pass quickly.” What’s happening, man? Long time, no see. Hope to see you at another show – although I am sure it is about 2,000 below zero and snowing up there, it is a balming sunny 68 here in Houston :).

    Ping me – you know my email.

    BP
    Idera

    Posted by bryan powell | February 2, 2009, 9:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

