//
you're reading...
.NET 2.0

Its been a while

It’s been a while since I’ve written code all through the night. I think the last time I managed to do it I was tweaking the database generator that creates one of the sample databases for Data Dynamics Reports.

I also discovered why its sometimes a bad idea to do so. I have a 40+ line block of code with a grand total of 1 comment and I can’t tell what was going through my mind when I wrote it.

I’ll rewrite that code later…Now it is time to get some sleep, I have no idea what time I’m waking up but I hope its dark outside when I do. And just to be safe I’m setting my alarm clock.

Update: What a difference a few hours of sleep makes. I woke up about 5 hours later and just got back to the code. Now the logic is cleaned up, the block I referenced earlier is down to 37 lines of code, with 7 comments including 2 TODO items. The code that calls that block is cleaned up as well and everything reads well. Normally I stop my all-night sessions around mid morning, but I kept this one going about 8 hours too long.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

