//
you're reading...
Games

The Wii is here

Tonight myself along with 30 other strangers met at the GameStop in Easton to pick up Nintendo’s latest offering: The Wii.

I started out this post by writing a couple of pages worth of text that read like a review. I don’t care to do that too much so I deleted it and will instead focus on the things that stick out in my mind about my 2 hour experience with the Wii.

My experience follows the break.

The Hardware

For the most part the hardware seems to be high quality, one sticky point for me is that the wire for the sensor bar just looks like its way too flimsy. This is probably so that you can fit the sensor bar where it needs to go and not have to worry about a heavy cord moving it…it would have been nice to see just a little more weight on it though.

When you have the system on but don’t use the Wii-mote for a while the remote shuts itself off and at the same time the video goes into a screensaver like mode. I didn’t expect to see it do the screensaver mode at all.

I should have done a little more research into it, but the Wii doesn’t have an Ethernet port on it at all. You either go Wireless via a router or DS Wireless adapter that works on any Windows XP based PC, or buy the not-yet-available Wii USB LAN Adapter. After I noticed someone had figured out my WEP key (which isn’t that hard to do) I bought a new router and gave my wireless one to my dad to use. I’m in need of some more ethernet ports as it is so I’ll be heading to Best Buy tomorrow to pick up a new wireless router…this time one that supports WPA 🙂

The Software

Along with the included Wii Sports title I also picked up Red Steel and the new Zelda.

Wii Sports is a fun diversion that would be even more fun with others to play it with. Unlike Red Steel and Zelda, most of the games in Wii Sports only require the Wii-mote. The only exception to this is boxing which uses the nunchuk attachment as one of your boxer’s hands. This at least brings the cost of entry into Wii Sports down from $60 to a slightly better $40.

For the most part the games have all been intuitive, the only one i’ve really had a problem controlling was boxing; but I imagine I will improve with time.

Red Steel is another beast altogether. From the get-go it is obvious this is not a first party title. The graphics look like they are out of some late ’90s FMV PC game. I’m not a big graphics whore so I let that slide. Aside from the learning curve in remembering that where I point is what does the controlling there haven’t been too many frustrating moments. Something that keeps biting me is that I keep assuming there would be accelerated turning, where the more you ‘push’ to the side of the screen the faster it turns. This just gets me to try to push the bounds even further, and by the time I’m ready to stop turning I wind up getting my controls disoriented…not a good thing to have happen in the middle of a firefight.

I don’t know how much more time I’ll be able to spend playing, we’re hitting crunch time at work to push out another beta release before the end of the year. Even though I’m not a developer, I still have a lot of work to do before the beta…but I’ll allow myself a diversion or two to relax every now and then.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Wii is here

  1. I always knew you had no life… But why would you want the whole world to know??!? Just wondering. bye

    Posted by Your sister | November 19, 2006, 3:54 pm
  2. Life or no, at least I’m enjoying it 😀

    Posted by james | November 27, 2006, 2:04 am
  3. LOL @ your sister’s comment 🙂

    Sounds like the sort of thing my sister always tells me 🙂

    Posted by Nish | December 10, 2006, 7:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

