//
you're reading...
Technology

Where did that VS2005 SP1 Beta uninstall go?

This morning I went to install VS2005 SP1. Knowing that I had installed the beta I wanted to uninstall it before doing the release version. Checking the Add/Remove Programs dialog the Beta wasn’t listed. Perhaps I didn’t install the beta on this computer? Or my desktop?

I started the install for the release version only to be met with an error saying I didn’t have the prerequisite product(s). Odd, VS2005 is definitely installed.

Turns out the uninstall for the beta version of SP1 is hidden in the XP version of the Add/Remove Programs dialog. To find it you’ll have to check the box at the top labeled “Show Updates”. Once that is checked the SP1 beta will be displayed underneath Visual Studio 2005.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “Where did that VS2005 SP1 Beta uninstall go?

  1. Thanks Heaps for this, you saved me going to the effort of removing VS entirely and reinstalling…
    Never know, might need to anyway.

    But thanks again.

    Posted by BrianPos | January 10, 2007, 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

