//
you're reading...
Space

Sorry for the weather

Yes, its mine and (probably) thousands of other people’s fault that Christmas night was cloudy. Santa brought me a new telescope this year (my first since the garage sale $1 wonders stinkers of my long-ago-youth) and I was anxious to try it out.

Meade ETX 80

Its not the best scope out there, but the purchasers did some research before hand to at least know that magnification isn’t everything and that size matters. I had been going back and forth with myself about getting a scope for over a year now. I found when I moved to Columbus that I just didn’t go out to star gaze like I used to here in Michigan…so if I did get something it would need to be easy to transport but still powerful enough to get me out night after night. The ETX 80 definately fits the bill for easy to transport. It’ll be even better once the hard case for it gets here. The only question left in my mind is whether it has enough light gathering power to satisfy me. Considering I was happy with the 8×56 binoculars I have, I’m sure I’ll be even happier with twice the light gathering power.

A few minutes ago I thought I finally had a break in the clouds…I checked outside and saw clouds to the west but not above, so I raced around and put my shoes and coat on and headed outside to bring the scope out of the garage where it had been waiting and acclimating to the outside temperature since this afternoon. Once outside however I found that the wind was blowing hard and the clouds that were to the west were now above and had already well on their way to cover the sky to the east. Maybe tomorrow night I can experience first light 🙂

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “Sorry for the weather

  1. Nice toy indeed! 🙂

    Posted by Luc | December 26, 2006, 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

