//
you're reading...
Technology

Canon S3 IS

I picked up a new digital camera yesterday, the Canon S3 IS (Review). I went for this one because it had optical image stabilization which is essential for my shaky hands to take a good picture. I played around with the cameras in best buy before deciding on this one and found its IS mode to be more than capable for what I needed.

The two I looked at were this one and a Sony model that was $50 cheaper. I found that the Sony’s IS wasn’t that great though. I was zoomed in only about 3x and the IS didn’t help me at all on getting a clear picture of a banner that was 15-20 feet in front of me. Other shots gave similar slightly blurry results.

Every test shot I tried with the Canon didn’t fail though, up close, medium, and long range (with zoom) all came out nice and crisp on the LCD screen.

I’ve uploaded some of the test shots I took of stuff in my apartment. I’ve also added some descriptions of what I remember the settings being when I took them. I’m not sure of the settings on a lot of them, but except for maybe a few color accent pictures here and there I don’t see myself using anything but the auto mode for a while.

There are a couple blurry photos in the set, I think it was because I was too close for the setting I was on. I’ll find out tomorrow though, I’ve been up far longer than I wanted to be (hardware failure on my home network :()

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

