//
you're reading...
Technology

Speaking of disk failures

Speaking of disk failures, when I got back from my Christmas break I found my server PC was down. A reboot or two and I got into Windows but after entering my login/pass it would just kick me back out. It also wouldn’t respond to pings. A couple reboots later and it blue screens saying the boot drive failed to mount.

Today I sat down to see what was wrong with it, loading up the recovery console and doing a “dir” on the C drive just gave an error. Loading up the windows server setup and I can see that the C partition is an unknown format.

I don’t think Windows Home Server would have helped me here, the partition housing the OS got hosed in this case…but maybe it would have.

As an aside, I had to spend quite a few hours last night bringing my network back up. It took me 3-4 hours of work before I found out that the switch connecting my PCs together and connecting to my routers (wired and wireless) had died. The only symptom I had was that windows file sharing between my laptop and pc was wonky, that FTP would only upload small files, and it would do funky things when i tried to use the web interface on my wireless router.

At any rate, I need to set this box back up again. Oh what fun I get to have!

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

