//
you're reading...
Space

Almost caught a comet

Today I left work a bit earlier than usual, leaving before the sun had completely set. My goal was to try to see and maybe photograph Comet McNaught.

I got home just in time, as I went to get my mail the western sky was just starting to darken. By the time I got back to my apartment, grabbed my camera, and headed back out I thought I saw it. It took me a while to find it when zoomed it but I managed to snag a picture of it too. I ran back in, downloaded the image and looked at the photo…what I saw certainly looked like it could be the comet. With a little time remaining I headed back out, this time down by the “lake” — as the front office calls it, “puddle” is what I would call it — where I had a better view of the western sky.

This time I was able to see Venus so I should have had no problems finding it, yet the object I photographed was no longer there.

With it far too late for the comet to be visible I came back home and studied the one photo I took in greater detail. It just doesn’t look right, the head is way too small and not fuzzy enough, and the tail isn’t bushy enough to look like it should. The tail also has a kink at the end which makes it even less likely that I caught the comet.

Here is a cropped, but otherwise unaltered copy of the photo.

Not a comet

I might try again tomorrow, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

