//
you're reading...
Leisure

The 5 things meme

The 5 things meme has come around to me via Nish. So now I have to tell everyone 5 things you probably don’t know about me. What will that be? Its a tough call!

  1. I’ve become a audio and video podcast addict – there are currently 211 items I have yet to listen to on my iPod. I’ll get through them eventually, the majority of those are from the entertaining SETI Institute’s “Are We Alone” radio show.
  2. I used to be an avid reader of fantasy and scifi books. However, it may be accurate to say that I haven’t finished a single novel after I finished high school. I’ve even got a few books sitting around that I only partially read or haven’t started at all.
  3. The first application I put up on the web (a “database” that stored Coca-Cola bottle information) received mentions in a few magazines dedicated to collectibles. Astonishing because I never publicized the thing. The funny part is that I wrote the application for my dad but he never used it.
  4. I’ve never figured out how to make small talk. When in a conversation sometimes I feel like a monkey trying to imitate what others are doing. It feels incredibly awkward and I don’t think it works half the time, but I’m working on it.
  5. And finally I go from not being able to hold a conversation, to holding one all by myself. I talk to myself, probably a little too often. Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m doing it, I just start verbalizing the internal dialogue in my head. Most of the time it happens when I’m trying to solve a problem with some code, but other times I’ll just be playing out a scenario in my head and find myself talking.

Now that my dirty laundry has been aired its time to tag some people to continue the airing. Jason, Luc, and Cheez. Tag, you’re it!

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The 5 things meme

  1. Fair enough: http://hardbarger.blogspot.com/2007/01/five-things-you-would-never-know-about.html

    By the way, I talk to myself too. The trick is to not respond to yourself… at least make sure nobody is looking first. 🙂

    Posted by Luc | January 22, 2007, 2:41 am
  2. Four and five sound familiar. 🙂

    Of course, i then move on to having conversations with other people *by myself*. Depending on how well i know the person, this can lead to future conversations being repeated verbatim from one i’ve already had alone…

    Posted by Shog9 | January 22, 2007, 12:37 pm
  3. I was going to post something mean…then I thought better of it. You can delete what I write…I cant control what you do tho. But I still think your a dork. l8r

    Posted by jenn | January 22, 2007, 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

