//
you're reading...
Data Dynamics Reports, Technology

Hello Vista

I’ve had Vista installed on my desktop for a while; but the bad quality of the beta video drivers I had meant it was very unlikely that i would be logged into it instead of XP on my PC. Now that nVidia has released much better drivers I’ve started using it more and more.

I’m still in a testing phase with it, but I have installed WoW + Burning Crusade and it seems to be running well….however setting the video mode caused the screen to flicker much more than usual. This caused some graphical anomalies (the images in the UI were switched all over the place), but they were fixed once I restarted the game and haven’t returned since.

I haven’t done much with Visual Studio yet, but after the first time I booted it up in weeks I caught it downloading and installing VS2005 SP1 for me. I did install the latest build of Data Dynamics Reports on it, and was somewhat surprised to see the toolbars take on part of the Vista look and feel. Scott had mentioned this to me before, but I didn’t have a chance to try it out because I never booted into Vista because of the driver problems.

I recently read a report where Apple was saying that users of iTunes should wait to upgrade to Vista. While I have no problem running iTunes, connecting my iPod up to it resulted in so many sync failures that I’ve given up syncing while in Vista. Apple says they will have a patch out shortly, the sooner the better because I don’t want to go too long without the ability to sync 🙂

Aside from the iPod sync issue the only upgrade I had to purchase for my PC was a new version of Nero. I held off on doing that when Nero 7.0 came out because Nero 6 worked fine for me and wasn’t bloated. Alas it isn’t compatible with Vista so I needed to pony up $50 for the upgrade. After the upgrade it’s been working fine for me — I even forgot I was transcoding a video when I launched WoW the first time, I couldn’t notice any performance hits.

For the next few weeks I’ll throw my every day tasks at it and see how well it handles things before I commit to it. So far, except for the iPod problem, the only other major issue I had was that it seemed like F2 was no longer letting me rename files….it took about 10 hours of fighting this for me to remember that my new keyboard has one of those damned F-Lock buttons that you have to press before the Function keys do what they should. At least this keyboard remembers the setting between reboots, unlike a similar keyboard I used at work for a while. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that everything else goes well.

[Edit: Forgot to finish a sentence]

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Hello Vista

  1. Tell dad to send you the pics he just took of the cats.

    Posted by jenn | February 5, 2007, 7:31 pm
  2. Keep your blog updated with any future findings please. 🙂 I’ve been thinking about making the leap myself, but I rely heavily on iTunes 7 (w/ sync), VS2003, Franklin Covey Daily Planner (w/ palm sync), and ATI’s TV tuner software… which I’m sure wouldn’t work in Vista.

    Posted by Luc | February 6, 2007, 2:48 am
  3. I have multiple failures when trying to sync my ipod under Vista as well. It is a stability issue from what I can tell. The first notification of a failure is any of Desktop Window Manager failure, Host Process for Windows Services failure, Search Indexer failure, or a Windows Defender Failure (not WD interfering, but WD itself encountering an error and closing), and soon thereafter (but sometimes before any of these occur), it goes to the “new version” of the blue screen of death with either a “bad_pool_caller” or a “page_default_ in_non_paged_area” error. Besides never receiving these errors any other time in any other circumstances, I also ran Memtest86 v3.3 overnight with no errors, so I don’t believe these are RAM related failures, but truly a problem with syncing under Vista.

    To be honest, I can’t believe in this day and age that a company would release a new OS where something as basic (and ubiquitous!) as iTunes would be an issue. I use both PC and Macs, but with the new speed of notebook processors available, any last doubts about ‘going all Mac’ have nearly been removed. For me, these guys have about 3 more weeks to get a fix out on this before I dive in and ditch my laptop. It’s pretty new, but this just isn’t worth it. My scientific computing apps are available (and just as fast) for Macs, so when it comes down to it, something as simple as being able to sync my music will make a difference. It’s frustrating…

    I’d be interested in your experiences now that another month has passed- any improvements?

    Posted by Matt | April 2, 2007, 10:21 pm
  4. Thanks for commenting Matt.

    I’ve switched to Vista for all my desktop computing needs now. The latest set of updates (both from Apple and Microsoft) have eliminated all my major problems with syncing in iTunes.

    I have noticed that when I first connect the iPod up iTunes slows to a crawl. After a few minutes of what looks like a lock, iTunes becomes responsive again like nothing bad happened.

    I can’t recall any stability issues on my end, no new-blue-screens; just the few iTunes crashes and a couple beta driver related crashes. Now that I’ve updated iTunes, Vista, and newer graphics drivers I can’t recall any more serious issues.

    Posted by James | April 2, 2007, 11:10 pm
  5. I should mention that I still use XP on my laptops. I’ve been tempted to move to Vista on my personal one but can’t be bothered with the whole install process so soon after my last one.

    Maybe in a couple months I’ll make the switch, with my Windows Home Server backups I could go back easily enough if I have more hardware problems.

    Posted by James | April 2, 2007, 11:19 pm
  6. I just made my transition to Vista a couple of weeks ago, so the failures I was describing were happening with all the latest Vista and iTunes updates available, including the special patches provided by Microsoft just for iTunes users. However, it seems I can avoid the blue screens by turning off photo synchronizing! The crashes occur while the photo cache is being built using my Pictures folder as the source. I’ve only found one other person describing the same failure (via google searches, that is), so I’m just going to cross my fingers that it will work right with the next iTunes release.

    The only other bugs I’ve experienced are a two quirks with Office 2003. In some instances of saving an Excel spreadsheet, I tried to use the right-click feature in the “Save” window to create a new folder and save my document into that new folder. Curiously, the folder was created but it would not display it in the window (even with a forced refresh), so you had to Cancel the save window, choose Save again, and then you could see the new folder, change it’s name, select it, and save the workbook. I’ve never had this happen in XP, and I use that method all the time to organize new documents I’m creating on the fly.

    The other Office ‘bug’ is very weird. After installing Office, I opened Outlook and configured my three POP email accounts like normal. Now, whenever it first checks my email on startup, one account always fails to connect but the other two are fine. This same account has no problems being checked on starup with either Mail or Entourage on our desktop Mac; it only does this when Outlook on Vista tries it out. I have no idea what could be causing this!

    Posted by Matt | April 10, 2007, 11:01 am
  7. Since I got my new pc with Vista (around March) I’ve been able to sync songs without any problems. I didn’t notice until a week ago that I wasn’t syncing my photos. Once I did that, I got the dreaded blue screen crash. I installed the new Itunes releases and this morning I got the blue screen again. Ridiculous…

    Posted by Chad | June 7, 2007, 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

