//
you're reading...
Leisure

Amazon Unbox on TiVo

Just as a meeting finished at work, Google Talk flashed up an e-mail I received from TiVo, announcing that the unbox service on Amazon is now available to download directly to a broadband connected TiVo. They’re even giving me a bonus $15 just to register.

Still at work I’ve purchased a rental of Thanks for Smoking just to give it a try, it should start downloading to my TiVo within 15 minutes. The rental prices are a little on the high side, $4 when I can get the same thing at a rental store for less than that. I’ve got 30 days to start watching it though and 24 hours to finish once I do start. Price wise, I was surprised to see Stranger Than Fiction only costing $15 to own. I haven’t heard much about it after it came out so I have no idea whether that is a good or bad price.

There seems to be a ton of shows and movies available for download. Amazon currently shows 1,388 items.

I’ll try to remember to post an update once I watch it to comment on the video quality…I wouldn’t call myself a critic though, I do all of my recording at medium quality with the exception of the things I start recording as I watch them (aka I came home and the History channel was showing something cool).

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

