//
you're reading...
Data Dynamics Reports, Technology

I love my job

Generally my job does not require writing code, I typically deal with what features go into the product and how they work from the users perspective. One of my responsibilities is also product marketing: Advertisements, booth work at shows, and answering questions from anyone who has them.

Practically since I got back from Orlando I’ve been working with fellow product managers Luc and Chapel on a project that integrates Data Dynamics Reports with Luc’s announced but not yet publicized product*. This project will be used for a technical talk at Devscovery, but was initially conceived for a talk at Day of .NET. The goal is to take a set of data and generate an insightful report from it at runtime. No user interaction required.

The project had started before the Orlando trip when I had written the generator portion of it, but it was very hard-coded. For the pragmatic, it was a tracer project. Since then Luc and I have been working on changes to better fit with our ideas of what we want. For most of the last week the tracer part of it had remained unchanged (and broken by other changes). Tonight I ported the tracer to use the changes we’ve made. It works!

*If you’d like to see Luc’s product check us out at any of the shows listed in the sidebar. We’ll be demoing it as well as all of our other products.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

