//
you're reading...
General

In Denver

I made it to Denver in one piece.

The day started off well, Luc picked me up around 7:30 and we headed to the airport. We were followed into the parking lot by a shuttle bus, the driver waited for us to unload our gear so we didn’t have to wait for another shuttle.

Once we got into the airport I realized that even though we booked with US Air, we were supposed to check in at United…fortunately that kiosk was a little more than 20 feet away 🙂 While waiting to board there were delays due to a backup system that stopped working. They wanted to get it back up before we could board and take-off. Bored, Luc and I decided to go for a coffee; when we got back a familiar horrific sight lay before us. A line was backed up from the gate counter. The flight had been canceled.

All was not bad however, originally I was supposed to fly from Columbus to Chicago O’Hare, and from there to Denver. While waiting in line to get our new flight information we overheard that they moved an express flight to Denver from our gate to the next gate down. Luc headed to that gate to see if we could get placed on that flight, while I stayed in line. A few minutes later Luc came back with good news; we were in stand-by and would probably get seats 😀

Unfortunately for Luc, I got the upgraded seat with more leg room 🙂

In the end we made it to Denver around the same time or even before we would have been otherwise…score!

At some point, Expedia had a left a message at Lucs home saying that our flight had been rescheduled for 5pm, we really lucked out.

Once we landed it was clear sailing all the way to the hotel. Luc got the short end of the stick again in room selection, mine was recently renovated, with an iHome ipod dock and LCD tv in the room as well as a nice looking desk. Luc’s room has a CRT tv and a plain jane alarm clock. However, the wifi gods have been against me.

Since I’m posting this its probably pretty clear that I’m on wifi now….apparantly my laptop’s wifi doesn’t like it when a single SSID has multiple access points available. I’ve configured the computer to only use one access point and everything is pretty happy now…though it took about 3 hours of trial and error yesterday and another 20 minutes this morning. It’s not very fast but at least its internet access.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “In Denver

  1. hey, answer the freakn’ eamail I sent you….when are you coming home again…. I want to know if its during my FL trip.

    Posted by Jenn | April 18, 2007, 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

