//
you're reading...
Data Dynamics, Life, Space

Bonfire, friends, and a comet

Last night Luc hosted his not-quite annual bonfire, many of our friends from Data Dynamics showed up as well as some of Luc’s friends and family and we all had a good time.  It was great to meet up with Phil and Chapel again, and  its always nice to meet the DD crew outside of the office.  The evening started off with a light misting and progressed to a light rain, however the fire dried us off and kept us warm.  Later in the night the clouds disappeared and I was able to catch a glimpse of Comet Holmes.  Of course, knowing that Luc lives way out in the country I had my star chart, red light, and binoculars with me.

The Bad Astronomer took a picture of the comet, and my view through the binoculars looked similar though much smaller of course.  I was also able to point out the comet to several friends at the bonfire and give them a taste of whats really up there 🙂   Luckily the comet and several of the stars in Perseus made a nice asterism and Capella gave me a great starting point.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Bonfire, friends, and a comet

  1. I have taken a few timelapse movies of the comet over the past few days and am out every night that i can until its not visible anymore. its easy to get photos of this one.

    check then out here:
    http://www.revver.com/playlist/show/291594/

    thomas

    Posted by thomas | November 6, 2007, 2:47 am
  2. Wow! Thomas, those are amazing videos you made!

    I’ll definately be checking out what you publish in the future.

    Posted by James | November 6, 2007, 2:59 am
  3. What sucks the most about this post is that I don’t remember you having those tools with you. I remember we talked about them in Tulsa, and you stated you were going to bring them, but I seriously don’t remember. Did you show them to me? Did I use them? Things were pretty fuzzy around the time that those clouds cleared out. 🙂 YOu’ll have to come out again and bring them so I can remember them. FYI: The sky is very open and clear right now!! If you’re up… ROAD TRIP!!

    Posted by Luc | November 16, 2007, 7:34 am
  4. LOL, I didn’t bring my telescope as the forecast was saying it wouldn’t clear up until 2am that night…but I did bring my binoculars out. I tried to show you the comet but you couldn’t see it through the binoculars. You were able to see where it was with the naked eye though.

    I’m hoping for clear skies next weekend as I’ll be taking the gear home with me for Thanksgiving.

    Posted by James | November 16, 2007, 11:46 am
  5. You are retarded! 500 dollars for a pair of binoculars??? Your crazy…and where do you get all this money anyway. I think you are selling some of that wacky weed…or whatever the kids call it these days:) Anyway…just wanted you to know how retarded you were….OH>>>AND DONT FORGET MY GRILL WHEN YOU COME HOME:)

    Posted by Jenn | November 16, 2007, 8:26 pm
  6. I didn’t pay $500 for binoculars, I got them because it was cheaper than a telescope. I only paid $150.

    Posted by James | November 17, 2007, 12:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

