//
you're reading...
OS X, Technology

My first OS X Application

Thanks to a handy wiki article, the mono project, and Cocoa# I have written my first app for OSX. Its the prerequisite Hello World application of course.

I don’t know if I’ll do anything serious with this knowledge, I’m still much more efficient writing against Windows Forms; but maybe I can glean some ideas off from the Mac way of doing things.

Hello World Screenshot

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “My first OS X Application

  1. Eclipse. My current headache. ๐Ÿ˜€ Feels so foreign…learning an entirely new IDE.

    Posted by Yoopergeek | November 12, 2007, 12:40 pm
  2. I’m still trying to figure it out; but as you can see from the screenshot I had to compile the code by hand. Thats the only reason I didn’t put it in my list of tools…it basically got used because i had it open earlier to experiment with the C# support…it was rather limiting.

    Posted by James | November 12, 2007, 12:42 pm
  3. Possibly the best application ever written! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by gregf | November 13, 2007, 7:12 pm
  4. C# is great, and Cocoa is great, but C# isn’t great for writing Cocoa.

    Cocoa was designed with Objective-C in mind, and it works better if you learn Objective-C. The language, being a layer on C, is more primitive than C# (no events, for example, and only just recently properties and GC), but it works better with Cocoa.

    If you don’t want to learn Objective-C, you can also look into writing Cocoa with Ruby or Python, but the C# stuff for bridging to Cocoa is in my experience not quite there yet, and using Mono just for bridging to Cocoa is overkill, in my opinion.

    Posted by Jesper | November 14, 2007, 6:08 am
  5. Nice job! You should consider selling that app and retiring in the Bahamas. ๐Ÿ™‚ So, where’s the source code!? Don’t leave us hangin’…

    Posted by Luc | November 16, 2007, 6:23 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

