//
you're reading...
Cats, Life, Rants

Waterlogged gadgets not good for health

Not my health anyway.  I’m up in Michigan for Christmas/New Year’s and I’ve been trying to sneak some work in while I’m here, using the dining room table as my makeshift desk.  Wednesday afternoon I got up to do something in another room.  When I came back to the dining room a few minutes later, I found one of my parent’s cats on top of it; proud that he knocked my glass of sprite all over my ipod, my new phone, and next to my laptop.

I lucked out for the most part.

My laptop came out okay.  Unlike other laptops I’ve owned, the MacBook Pro doesn’t have a ton of openings on the bottom of it, basically there is a battery compartment and a few screw holes.  The ports on the side seemed to be above the water level as well.  So aside from the panic, quick/forced shutdown, and disconnection of everything, there was nothing to worry about.

My phone also came out okay.  Despite sitting in the middle of a pool of soda, the worst it suffered was a streaky exterior after wiping it dry.

The ipod; however, bit the dust.  It refused to turn on for a while, then I noticed some liquid in the dock connector so I took some alcohol to it to dry it out.  It turned on right after that and appeared to be fine.  10 minutes later it was displaying its extremely low power display and has since refused to turn on, even after charging over night.  I suspect some liquid did get inside even though it seems to be sealed up pretty tight.  I’m tempted to give it a bath in alcohol to see if I can get anything out of it; but part of me just wants to get a replacement and be done with it.

So if anyone at work is wondering why I suddenly disappeared on Wednesday, now you know 🙂

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Waterlogged gadgets not good for health

  1. Alcohol baths do wonders. I had a mishap with my phone recently, bathed it in 91% Isopropyl Alcohol and let it dry overnight. The phone has worked great ever since, even though the power button refuses to.

    But then again, this usually works if you don’t turn the electronic device on after the liquid damage.

    Anyway, tomorrow is Friday, and you can’t claim “damaged electronics”. So if I sent an email, it better get a response. 😛

    Posted by Pilgrim | December 28, 2007, 3:25 am
  2. Some countries have cat as a delicacy on new years day… Just saying… Can I has catburger?

    Posted by Luc | December 28, 2007, 11:19 am
  3. lol, i thought about making a joke that Mr. Wobbles is getting adjusted to his legs being in a cast but thought that might be taken seriously instead of as a joke.

    You beat that with the catburger joke though.

    Posted by James | December 28, 2007, 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

