//
you're reading...
General, Life

My Resolutions

I’ve never been big into making new year’s resolutions; partly because if I’m not going to resolve to do something unique I’d rather just not mention it.  This year, I have at least a unique perspective on what I want to accomplish.

So, in 2008 I resolve to (in no particular order):

  • Give Google Reader another chance, it seems everyone is using it and the bloglines beta is busted for me.
  • Educate developers, product managers, and business analysts about great data visualization techniques and know the difference between marketing pizazz and what really makes a great looking chart.  This is a goal I have at work, but I want to carry that goal to this blog as well.
  • Be more active, 3 years ago I hit 300 pounds and I’ve hovered right around there until last month when I put on 10 pounds.  Time to stop the trend from continuing.
  • Be smarter about my money.  I need to do better budgeting and pay off my debts if I ever want to quit renting and buy a house.

Okay, so except for one curve ball in there its a pretty normal list.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My Resolutions

  1. * Let me continue to jibe you to try Reader – it is “all that”…maybe even a bag of chips.

    * I look forward to what you come up with in your data-visualization endevours. We run into data-viz ‘issues’ with the data we juggle in our apps…

    * Geek-out on your weight-loss plan, I got an Omron HJ-720ITC pedometer. The thing is a *great* pedometer for cheap, and it hooks up via USB to download your step data. I originally heard about it from this post: http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/my-favorite-pedometer-omron-hj-720itc/

    Posted by Yoopergeek | January 2, 2008, 2:01 pm
  2. Hockey, learn to play hockey!

    Posted by Phil | January 3, 2008, 3:34 pm
  3. Hockey is one of those things I’d love to learn to play…first is ice skating though 🙂

    Posted by James | January 4, 2008, 1:26 am
  4. Awesome resolutions man!

    a: google reader is the bees knees (i love this saying)

    b: i’m with you on the data visualization goal, we’ll do this together 😉

    c: go you man! check this out: http://www.amazon.com/Fit-Fat-Michael-Keller/dp/143481503X he went from 316 lbs to a healthy weight and changed his life pretty much overnight (and he’s from Ohio)

    d: can I borrow $200? 🙂 jk

    Posted by Luc | January 4, 2008, 1:30 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

