//
you're reading...
General, Leisure

Apple TV 2

Last July when we released Data Dynamics Reports the company rewarded the team with Apple TVs. Unfortunately not everyone on the team could use them; but I was able to use mine. I used it every now and again to play music on my tv so i could use my speakers for other things and it was great to watch all of the TV series I purchased from the iTunes store.

But the one thing I never did was watch movies on it. The price just wasn’t attractive enough for me. I can stand $2 for a TV episode especially when I can get it before the series comes out on DVD and for the same or lower price; but to pay DVD prices for something i could almost definately find cheaper at wal-mart didn’t seem right. So that functionality went unused. A few times I thought about getting a movie just so I could test the feature out; but never found anything.

Fast forward to Steve Job’s keynote in January where he announced the Apple TV 2 functionality and the addition of movie rentals. And existing Apple TV users would be able to download a software upgrade to boot. After iTunes 7.6 was released, I rented a movie I hadn’t seen in ages but remember fondly, Big Trouble in Little China. The only problem was that the software update was no where to be found, so BTLC sat unwatched on my hard drive for almost a month.

With less than 2 days left before my rental expires they released the software update. Due to bad road conditions I didn’t go into the office today; and minutes after I got the update installed I began watching the movie. I didn’t hit me until now; but I haven’t noticed the quality issues that I noticed on movie rentals from Amazon through TiVo2Go. Later I’ll try an HD rental and see how that is.

The update did break some functionality I prefered, when I bring up the My TV Shows interface I see all of my shows grouped together, where-as before I chose the show to watch and then the episode. When BTLC is over I’ll see if I can reclaim that functionality.

Update: I must not have been paying attention or it remembered the last show I watched before the upgrade because the TV Show functionality is there, I just had to tell it to go back in order to see it.

And it’s even better now…The shows are numbered from XX down to 1.  Oddly I don’t recall the numbers being there when I was on the episode screen before, did it just not update until I reloaded the listing?  Anywho, the update gets a thumbs-up from me.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

