//
you're reading...
General

Death of a legend

As soon as I got home from work today a friend told me some sad news; Gary Gygax has died.

D&D is what brought me to a new group of friends my sophomore year of high school and kept me occupied through college.  While I no longer play D&D it has surely influenced the games I play today as a fantasy RPG junkie.  Not to mention all of the games that are based in some part on the D&D ruleset.

One of the best times I had at GenCon last year was being able to watch Gary “play” a bit of D&D during the “Killer Breakfast” event.  If I remember correctly Gary’s character just burrowed underground to avoid the incoming horde of undead, but it was kind of aweing to see the creator play the game he created so long ago.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “Death of a legend

  1. Millions of nerds all over the world are very upset right now.

    Posted by Jenn | March 6, 2008, 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

