//
you're reading...
OS X

Stop creating .ds_store files on network volumes

Last night I was preparing my laptop to go to the office this morning and needed to copy a file off my windows PC desktop to my Mac.  Nothing unusual there, just connect to the share and copy the file.

This morning I noticed an additional file sitting on my desktop: .DS_Store and it reminded me that I’ve been meaning to look for a way to turn off this behavior on my Mac.  I’m sure I’ve left quite a few .DS_Store files on the network file share at the office 🙂

A quick google turned up this article that describes the commands used to disable that behavior.

To prevent the creation of these files, open the Terminal and type:

defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true

It may be necessary to log out and back in, or even to restart the computer (which is what the article states), for the change to take effect.

I’m sure the guys at work will appreciate me doing this.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

One thought on “Stop creating .ds_store files on network volumes

  1. HELLO! Never even thought of searching google for it, I just got used to it. Best blog post I’ve read in at least a month.

    Posted by Scott Willeke | March 12, 2008, 1:03 am

Leave a Reply

Archive

