//
you're reading...
General

TechEd 2008

TechEd was a blast!  I didn’t post the notice here, but Data Dynamics was out in force for TechEd Developer this year.  Lucas, Scott, Issam, and I pulled booth duty at the event and we got to talk about our products till we couldn’t talk anymore.

I got to talk with quite a few people about reporting, data mining, and what people are doing with the newer technologies coming from Microsoft.

As the post I scheduled earlier on my blog mentioned we announced support for Excel in Data Dynamics Reports.  I didn’t get a chance to talk about it here much other than posting the press release, but I’ll save that for a future post.

In addition to the new Excel support in DDR, I was doing a few demos of Data Dynamics Analysis; though I tried to aim those people to Lucas because he does such a great job in the demo.  We of course, released DDA last month so there was a lot of proselytizing to show people there is more to data analysis than just awful 3D charts and pie graphs.

That job will be easier once the DDA screencasts start rolling out, because its such an interactive product its very difficult to tell people about the product and have them ‘get’ it with words and static pictures alone.

The hotel we stayed at for TechEd last year was sub-par so Issam booked us rooms at the Peabody hotel.  Those are the famous ducks in the gallery below.  Oddly, the rooms there weren’t anything to write home about; despite the prestige that followed the name.  The service and food at the hotel were great though.

I brought home a souvenir from the trip as well; Lucas gave me his cold so I’ve spent all day Sunday and Monday sneezing and blowing my nose :S

Ducks at the Peabody Hotel fountain Both halves together The left half of the Data Dynamics booth The right half of the Data Dynamics booth

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “TechEd 2008

  1. Did you meet anyone from CodeProject, JTJ?

    Posted by Nish | June 10, 2008, 9:47 am
  2. Sort of, Ed from Dundas stopped by our booth for a few seconds and I met Robyn from ad sales a few times as well. Someone else from Dundas came by for t-shirts but I don’t recall who it was 😦

    I didn’t do a lot of walking around the expo floor; just stuck to the DD booth pretty much.

    Posted by James | June 10, 2008, 9:57 am
  3. It was a 6 hour drive from here. Had I known that you’d be there, I might have driven up during the weekend (though I guess you jay have left already).

    Oh and it would have been nice to get some more Data Dynamics t-shirts 🙂

    Posted by Nish | June 10, 2008, 10:37 am
  4. I had all day Saturday free actually 😉 But the t-shirts were already shipped back to the warehouse for storage….had I of known you were coming i could have snagged some though.

    Posted by James | June 10, 2008, 11:37 am
  5. I got to talk to Chris Munders from CodeProject at the MSDN party (working on my post now) and found out he was Aussie. He was very nice!

    Oh and the guy that stopped by the booth from Dundas was Mike and Nick. I think they both get the “nyooo kid” label though. 🙂

    Posted by Luc | June 10, 2008, 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

