//
you're reading...
Leisure, Technology

I’ve been Kindle’d

In high school, I used to be a voracious reader, going through books fairly frequently.  However, once I went to college and after I moved to my own apartment my reading dropped.  Lately, I’ve been wanting to get back to reading like I used to.  Not only for the enjoyment but because I felt like I was missing something.

Now that I actually have furniture in my apartment I also have a comfy place to read.  I almost bought a Kindle in October or November, but held off.  Would I really use it enough to justify spending $350?  Then in late January several of the people I follow on twitter kept mentioning the announcement/release of an updated Kindle.  I bit the bullet then, and placed my preorder for a Kindle hoping I would automatically get upgraded to the new one if it was announced.  Two days later it was publicly announced and I received an email confirming that I had been upgraded.

Fast forward to a week ago.  My Kindle arrived!  I was immediately impressed with the device.  You can probably find unboxing photos on various gadget sites.  The day before I purchased a few books and they synced to it shortly after I turned the device on.

Coming back to now, I’ve read three books on the Kindle; not counting the user’s guide or the thank you letter from Jeff Bezos.  Bad Astronomy by Dr. Phil Plait, Ur by Stephen King, and A Briefer History of Time by Dr. Stephen Hawking and Dr. Leonard Mlodinow.  If anyone loves to read, I would definately recommend getting one.

About James

I am a Senior Developer/Consultant for InfoPlanIT, LLC. I previously spent over 7 years as a Product Manager for what eventually became ComponentOne, a division of GrapeCity. While there, I helped to create ActiveReports 7, GrapeCity ActiveAnalysis, and Data Dynamics Reports.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “I’ve been Kindle’d

  1. cool. I got mine a week ago and love it. I am reading an interesting book about visual thinking called “the Back of a Napkin”.

    Wish it would do better on PDFs though, I have a ton and most don’t really come out good.

    Posted by Issam Elbaytam | March 3, 2009, 8:15 pm
  2. How do you get the PDFs on it? I thought you just had to email them, but all the PDFs I tried came back with errors saying it was an unsupported format.

    Posted by James | March 3, 2009, 9:18 pm
  3. Very cool! I’ve only read 3 – 4 books (front to back) in my life, so don’t see the need for such a device… yet. 🙂

    Posted by Luc | March 4, 2009, 3:42 pm
  4. /me is jealous!

    I’m afraid to spend the cash on one for fear that I would *still* not read, and I’d be stuck with a $400 paperweight.

    Posted by Jason Poll | March 20, 2009, 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

